I was given my car when my grandpa died a little over a year ago. He lived in Oklahoma so the car has an Oklahoma license plate. I live in Texas and I get my insurance and everything taken care of here. I got pulled over the other night because my license plate isn't a Texas license plate. I was told that I needed to get a Texas license plate. I don't fully understand why I was pulled over for this. I have been driving the car for over a year, and I see people all of the time with Oklahoma plates that I'm pretty sure live in Texas.
According to many state's laws about license plates you have an X amount of days after residing in a state to register a license plate with that state. In Texas, the driver of the motor vehicle has 30 days AFTER his residence within the state to register the vehicle with the Texas DMV.
The only ways it can be overlooked is if you don't live in Texas, but in Oklahoma (with proof of residence). If you do live in Texas, then that Oklahoma plate is invalid and you must register a new plate with the Texas DMV to avoid ticketing for invalid plates. The other way is if you are a full-time student living in Texas based on education purposes and imply return to your resident state.
Bottom line, if you're living in Texas more than 30 days with no intent to leave, you are required by state law to register a new plate with the DMV in Texas.
Correct, and bottom line is it's all about taxes