if you deactivate it, it's like you've permanently deleted it because no one could find you or vice versa. I've permanently deleted mine, and it worked fine.
We have a How To for that: http://www.funadvice.com/howto/deletefacebookaccount
but with deactivating it. you can log back on
Facebook can be a big pain in the butt, LOL.